Menlo-Atherton High School Quiz Bowl club

Press clippings

Tournament formats

History of quiz shows

Sample questions
high school

Sample questions  middle school

Field trip driver form



Quiz Kids TV show

Contact us

Tournament results

Northern California NAQT

field trip permission forms    

M-A has been Quiz Bowl champion of the Bay Area 5 of the past 17 years,

Do you like playing Jeopardy from your living room couch?  Then come join the Quiz Bowl club!  The high school club meets at lunchtime in room B-10 on Wednesdays and Thursdays. The Hillview Middle School club meets at lunchtime on Tuesdays in the music room. 

The advisor is Sue Kayton.  We hold tryouts each fall to select a four-person varsity team, but all club members have the opportunity to compete at the junior varsity level.  We compete in Bay Area Quiz KidsNAQT (national), BAAL (Bay Area), and other local tournaments.  If you would like to join the club or borrow a DVD or videotape of matches, just show up at one of our meetings.

The varsity team was the Bay Area NAQT champion for 2007, qualified for the 2004 and 2007 national NAQT high school tournaments, and was the undefeated Bay Area Quiz Kids champion four years in a row from 2000-2004.  Come join our club and YOU can represent M-A on this show!  For more information, contact Sue Kayton (650) 853-1711,

Upcoming dates:  (If you want to go, email Sue)

Sunday March 26.  High school tournament at Bellarmine in San Jose.

Saturday April 1.  Middle school tournament at Fallon Middle School in Dublin.

Sat April 15.  NAQT at Berkeley.  Varsity level.  State championships, so competition will be intense.

Print out field trip permission forms
Order Bear Wear club T-shirt and sweatshirt.  Choose category Miscellaneous, then Quiz Bowl.

Put your picture here!  Come and join the Quiz Kids club.  We meet in B-10 Wednesdays and Thursdays at lunchtime.    
2014-5:  Jasper Fu, Ritwick  Kesavath, Mason Seymour, Griffin Kardos 2011 varsity team:  Nikhil Viswanathan, Kurt Kessler, Koji Kameda, Jake Solomon
2009 varsity team:  Benjamin Nuyens, Dan Kozlowski, Kurt Kessler, and Cam Cogan 2008 varsity team:  Dan Kozlowski, Benjamin Nuyens, Greg Nisbet, and Tom Ivy

2007 varsity team:  Tom Kozlowski, Patrick Leugers, Robbie Eaton 2006 varsity team:  Robbie Eaton, Tom Kozlowski, captain Benj Fried, Patrick Leugers. 

2005 varsity team:  Julia Choe, Rachel Barclay, captain Collin Cronkite, alternate Robbie Eaton (not shown) 2004 varsity team: Daniel Altman, Rajiv Ayyangar (not shown), coach Gregg Whitnah, Rachel Barclay, and Collin Cronkite.
2003 undefeated champions:  Jessica Woods, Amelia Drace, David Hestrin, coach Gregg Whitnah, and Daniel Barclay.   2002 undefeated champions:  David Hestrin, Daniel Barclay, Robin Pam, Jessica Woods, coach Gregg Whitnah
2001 undefeated champions.  Principal Eric Hartwig, Daniel Barclay, Noah Veltman, Robin Pam, coach Bob Hasbrook 2000 undefeated champions:  Lyndsay Toeppen, Jonathan Soon, Daniel Barclay, Robin Pam.  Not shown:  coach Bob Hasbrook
2001 Quiz Kids in London  2003 Quiz Kids in Costa Rica/Nicaragua